Outstanding Sophomore Scholarship Award Rules
(2-year School)

In an endeavor to promote higher scholastic standards among students in Animal Science, the National Block & Bridle Club will offer cash awards to outstanding sophomore students who are enrolled in a 2-year college program and are active members of a Block & Bridle Club.

The following rules and regulations are suggested:

1. The student must be enrolled in a regular two-year curriculum and must have completed at least two semesters of course work and have at least one semester of two-year college work remaining to be completed.

2. The student must be an active member in good standing of the local and National Block & Bridle Club.

3. Selection will be conducted by a committee selected by the National Block & Bridle Vice President with a minimum of three committee members. The committee members should include representation from chapters of various sizes and from different geographic areas.

4. The names of the three winners will be announced at the National Block & Bridle Convention.

5. If for some reason the winner of the scholarship is unable to accept the award, the second place contestant shall be eligible. In no case will the award be given to an individual if they do not continue college work.

6. The chapter's nomination for the Outstanding Sophomore Scholarship Award is limited to five (5) typed pages (front only). An official transcript must be included in the nomination packet. Please be as complete and thorough as possible.

The report should contain the following items:

A. Scholarship (45%)

An official transcript, signed by the registrar, stating the number of credit hours completed and the grade point average should accompany the credentials. All scholarship awards should be listed in the nomination packet.

B. Summary of Block and Bridle Activities (35%)

All of the activities of the Block & Bridle Club in which the nominee has taken part should be included, such as offices held, committee assignments, work assignments, etc.

C. Other Activities (20%)

This list should include all activities since entering college not sponsored by the Block & Bridle Club (such as fraternities, church, intern experience, athletics, debate, drama, judging, college committees, work, etc).

Scholarship Awards

First place will receive $750; second place, $300; and third place, $150.

Date Due

The Outstanding Sophomore Scholarship Award nomination packet should be emailed to the National Block and Bridle Vice President and copied to the Block and Bridle awards email by June 15. The format of the nomination packet needs to be a multipage ‘pdf’ file, which can be attached as a SINGLE file to your email.  The official transcript can either be emailed as a separate file or it can be mailed with a postmark of June 15 if it is not possible to send an electronic copy. For late entries, 3 points will be deducted for each day beyond the June 15 deadline (100-point scale), and entries will not be considered if they are two or more weeks late.

Past Outstanding Sophomore Scholarship Award Winners

2015 - 2016 Winners

First Place - Mattison Dusin, Pratt Community College

2016 - 2017 Winners

First Place - Savannah Pryor, Pratt Community College

2014 - 2015 Winners

First Place - Lane Kissinger, Pratt Community College

2013 - 2014 Winners

First Place - Natali Goertzen, Pratt Community College

2012 - 2013 Winners

First Place - Todd Ash, Pratt Community College

2011 - 2012 Winners

No entries

2010 - 2011 Winners

First Place - Chelsea Wilson, Pratt Community College

2009 - 2010 Winners

First Place - Travis Panek, Pratt Community College
Second Place - Heather Bryan, Virginia Tech University

2008 - 2009 Winners

First Place - Bradley Talkington, Pratt Community College

2003 - 2004 Winners
First Place - Brent Newby, Pratt Community College
Second Place - Brandon Fields, Virginia Tech 

2002 - 2003 Winners
First Place - Matthew D. Vaupel, Pratt Community College
Second Place - Steven E. Lowe, Virginia Tech

2001- 2002 Winner
First Place - Britney D. Northrup, Pratt Community College

2000 - 2001 Winners
First Place - Amie Leigh Knick, Virginia Tech
Second Place - Kristy Wempe, Pratt Community College

1999 - 2000 Winner
First Place - Kelly Ann Stephens, Pratt Community College

1998 - 1999 Winners
First Place - Steve Clark, Pratt Community College
Second Place - Charlie McCoy, North Carolina State University

1997 - 1998 Winner
First Place - Toni Wesley, Pratt Community College

1996 - 1997 Winners
First Place - Patrick Letourneau, Cloud County Community College
Second Place - Laura Sondeno, Northwest College